# **2021 IEEE Texas Symposium on Wireless and Microwave Circuits** and Systems (WMCS 2021)

**Virtual Conference** 18 – 20 May 2021



IEEE Catalog Number: CFP21WMD-POD **ISBN:** 

978-1-6654-3139-2

## **Copyright © 2021 by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, Inc. All Rights Reserved**

*Copyright and Reprint Permissions*: Abstracting is permitted with credit to the source. Libraries are permitted to photocopy beyond the limit of U.S. copyright law for private use of patrons those articles in this volume that carry a code at the bottom of the first page, provided the per-copy fee indicated in the code is paid through Copyright Clearance Center, 222 Rosewood Drive, Danvers, MA 01923.

For other copying, reprint or republication permission, write to IEEE Copyrights Manager, IEEE Service Center, 445 Hoes Lane, Piscataway, NJ 08854. All rights reserved.

## \*\*\* This is a print representation of what appears in the IEEE Digital Library. Some format issues inherent in the e-media version may also appear in this print version.

IEEE Catalog Number:	CFP21WMD-POD
ISBN (Print-On-Demand):	978-1-6654-3139-2
ISBN (Online):	978-1-6654-0309-2

### Additional Copies of This Publication Are Available From:

Curran Associates, Inc 57 Morehouse Lane Red Hook, NY 12571 USA Phone: (845) 758-0400 Fax: (845) 758-2633 E-mail: curran@proceedings.com Web: www.proceedings.com



# Technical Papers Published in IEEE Xplore (organized by sessions)

#### Session 1: Antennas I

#### Chair: Sensen Li Co-Chair: Yang Li

- 1.1 A Circularly Polarized Antenna in D-Band......1 Chao Gu (Queens University Belfast), Lu Bai (Ulster University), Fei Cheng (Sichuan University), Shuo Yin (Trinity College Dublin)
- 1.2 Investigation into Series-Fed Microstrip Patch Arrays at 26 GHz, 28 GHz and 48 GHz Design, Simulation and Prototype Tests.......5 Eddie Ball (The University Of Sheffield)
- 1.3 A 120 GHz on-Chip Yagi-Uda Antenna with Backside Etching in 130 nm SiGe BiCMOS Technology......11 Vincent Lammert (Infineon Technologies AG), Robert Weigel (University of Erlangen-Nuremberg), Vadim Issakov (Otto-von- Guericke Universität Magdeburg)
- 1.4 A Zero-Index Based Metasurface Antenna with Improved Gain and Circular Polarization Characteristics..........15 Puneeth Kumar T R (Siddaganga Institute of Technology, Tumkur), Krishnamoorthy Kandasamy (National Institute of Technology Karnataka Surathkal)

#### **Session 2: Wireless Power Transfer and Sensors**

#### Chair: Ifana Mahbub Co-Chair: Rashaunda Henderson

- 2.1 Increasing the Wireless Power Transfer (WPT) Link Efficiency by High Gain Helices...........25 Hossein Mardani, Neil Buchanan, Vincent Fusco, Umair Naeeim (Queen's University Belfast, UK)

- 2.5 Backscatter Analysis in UWB Chipless RFID Based on UWB-IR.......43 Kawther Mekki (University of Tunis Manar), Omrane Necibi (Jouf University, Saudi Arabia), Hugo Dinis (University of Minho Braga, Portugal), Paulo Mendes (University of Minho), Ali Gharsallah (University of Tunis Elmanar, Tunisia)

#### **Session 3: Antennas and Wireless Communications**

#### Chair: Harshrpreet Bakshi Co-Chair: Pedro Rodriguez-Garcia

- 3.1 *F-J Antenna Structure Compact Size with Impedance Ratio 13:1 Excited by Tapered CPW.......*48 Amer Tawfeeq Abed (Al-ma'moon University College)
- 3.2 *True Time Delay Device Through Degenerate Band Edge (DEB) for UWB Beamforming.......*54 Raed Almhmadi (University of Jeddah)
- 3.5 A Parasitic Patch Antenna System with High Isolation for Full Duplex Application.........63 Abdul Rakib Hossain, Tuan Nguyen, Tutku Karacolak (Washington State University Vancouver)

#### **Session 4: Modeling and Design Methodologies**

#### Chair: Taiyun Chi Co-Chair: Tabassum Mahzabeen

- 4.2 Investigation into the Relationship Between Conversion Gain, Local Oscillator Drive Level and DC Bias in a SiGe Transistor Transconductance Modulated Mixer at 24-28 GHz.......70
  Eddie Ball (The University Of Sheffield)
- 4.3 *RF/Microwave Broadband Characterization of Paper Substrates......*76 Reza Ebrahimi Ghiri, Kamran Entesari (Texas A&M University)
- 4.4 On-Wafer Microfabricated Test Structures for Characterizing RF Breakdown in Narrow Gaps...........79 Alexander Ruyack, Matthew Jordan, Christopher Moore, Gwendolyn Hummel, Sergio Herrera, Mark Ballance, Andrew Bingham, Adrian Schiess, Christopher Gibson, Christopher Nordquist (Sandia National Laboratories)

#### Session 5: RFIC

#### Chair: Wooyeol Choi Co-Chair: Travis Forbes

- 5.1 Power Amplifier enabled RF Fingerprint Identification.......91 Yuepei Li, Yuan Ding, George Goussetis (Heriot-Watt University), Junqing Zhang (University of Liverpool)
- 5.2 A 2 mW, 60 GHz Mixer First I/Q Receiver in 28 nm CMOS.........97 Duha Gharaba, Emanuel Cohen (Technion - Israel Institute of Technology)
- 5.3 The Role of Impedance Transparency of Non-Reciprocal 900 Phase Shifters in the Evolution of Electronic Circulators.......102 Dror Regev (Huawei), Erez Zolkov, Nimrod Ginzberg, Roy Weiss, Emanuel Cohen (Technion - Israel Institute of Technology)

- 5.4 A V-Band GaN Power Amplifier with 34.9% PAE and 35.1-dBm Output Power......107 Pouria Pazhouhesh, Jennifer Kitchen (Arizona State University)
- 5.5 Design of a Class-J 1.35-1.75 GHz 150 W Power Amplifier with Bounded Performance Technique......113 Kim Tran (Qorvo Inc.)

#### Session 6: Antennas II

#### Chair: Yang Li Co-Chair: Sensen Li

- 6.1 A Dual-Polarized Antenna Array with Electrically Down-tilt Function Based on the Vector Modulator......119 Hou shaoshuai, Yi Zhiming (Shanghai University), Fu Feng, Ren Yu-Jiun (Electric Connector Technology-US), Yang Guangli (Shanghai University)
- 6.3 Reflectarrays with Ultra-Reconfigurable VO2 Unit-Cells for Next-Generation Communication Systems.......127 Randy Matos, Nezih Pala, Stavros Georgakopoulos, Abdul Kaddour (Florida International University)

#### **Session 7: Passive Devices**

#### Chair: Rashaunda Henderson Co-Chair: Shahrokh Saeedi

- 7.2 Four-port Spatiotemporally Modulated Circulator with Low Modulation Frequency.......146 Saeed Keshavarz, Haysam Kadry, Dimitrios Sounas (Wayne State University)
- 7.3 A Novel Tunable Phase Shifter with Distributed Capacitive Loading..........150 Matthew Sahara, Jacob Marutani, Aaron T. Ohta, Wayne A. Shiroma (University of Hawaii)
- 7.4 A Tunable Parallel-Plate Capacitor Using Liquid-Metal Actuation.......154 Matthew Sahara, Jacob Marutani, Aaron T. Ohta, Wayne A. Shiroma (University of Hawaii)
- 7.5 An Integrated Frequency Selective Power Divider with Double-Slot Antenna Radiation and Wide Stopband for Sub-6 GHz 5G......160 Behrooz Rezaee, Hossein Sarbandifarahani, Wolfgnag Bösch (Technical University of Graz)

#### Session 8: Radar and Sensing

#### Chair: Jennifer Kitchen Co-Chair: Jay McDaniel

- 8.2 Driver Head Motion Monitoring Using a mm-Wave FMCW Radar...........171 Drew G Bresnahan, Yang Li (Baylor University)
- 8.3 Design of a Robust Noncontact Vital Signs (NCVS) Monitoring System Using Software Defined Radio (SDR)......175 Yang Liu, Clint Sweeney, J. Hawkins, S. Rojas, J. Mayeda, Y. Tchatchoua, T.Q. Nguyen, Donald Lie (Texas Tech University)
- 8.5 *RF Transmitter Localization Method Comparison Using RSS Measurements from Drift Nodes......*185 Javier Garcia, Michael Yanuzzi, Conlan Taylor, Aaron Becker (University of Houston)

#### **Session 9: Electromagnetic Propagation**

#### Chair: David R. Jackson Co-Chair: Jiefu Chen

- 9.2 De-embedding Motion Artifacts from Robotic Arm Assisted Propagation Measurements........195 Collin A Thornton, Amit Kachroo, He Bai, Sabit Ekin, Wooyeol Choi (Oklahoma State University)

- 9.5 Underground Tunnel Detection Using EM Waves...........212 John W. Neese, David Jackson, Yingcai Zheng, Leon A. Thomsen (University of Houston)